DAUAA Honors & Awards

Hirsch Research Paper Competition

Annual award given in conjunction with the annual DAU Symposium presented by the Alumni Association on behalf of DAU, the DAUAA co-sponsors- in coordination with the DAU Director of Research – a research paper competition.  Themes for the papers are usually associated to some extent with the theme of the Symposium.  The competition is open to anyone interested in the DoD acquisition system and is not limited to government or contractor personnel.  The call for papers is during the summer preceding the Symposium with papers due for  judging in the December time-frame.  Referees are selected by the DAU Director of research and usually include DAUAA members.  Cash awards in the amount of $1000 are provided by the Alumni Association for first place, and $500 for second and third places and are presented at the annual symposium.

CLICK HERE for Details

DAUAA Outstanding Scholar

The DAUAA Outstanding Scholar receives an academic scholarship awarded annually for demonstrated academic and leadership achievement as well as significant community involvement.  The criteria include GPA, letters of reference, school activities and an essay on “Why college is important to me.”  Current members in good standing that are a parent, grandparent, or legal guardian of a student who is a graduating high school senior may submit applications.  The graduating senior must be enrolled in an accredited university, college, community college, or trade school for the fall semester of the year of application.  The $500-$1000 scholarship will be applied directly to the recipient’s continued pursuit of academic excellence. CLICK HERE FOR 2021 APPLICATION

CLICK HERE for 2020 Scholarship Recipients

Bryant Alternative High School Award

Bryant Alternative High School holds an honors and awards Program which features various scholarship presentations and speeches by several outstanding students.  Besides these activities, the Bryant Departments also presents “Achievement” awards to 54 students – for academic accomplishments in the classroom.  The Bryant Alternative High School is sponsored by DAU and provides students an opportunity to enhance their learning through individual teacher support.  

CLICK HERE for Information

DAUAA Support for Hall of Fame Awards

Each year, the DAUAA contributes towards the purchase of DAU Hall of Fame Awards.

The 2018 awardees included Katharina McFarland, Paul Alfieri, James Childress, Marshall Eubanks, and Richard Stillman.

Those awarded in 2017 included Michael Lacroix, Dick David, Jesse Stewart, Tim Shannon, and Frank Kendall.

Acker Award

The DAVID D. ACKER “SKILL IN COMMUNICATION” AWARD is presented annually by the Alumni Association, in memory of former DSMC Professor David Acker, to one distinctive individual who has promoted and communicated acquisition management excellence to the acquisition workforce.  The Acker Award is the most prestigious award sponsored by the Defense Acquisition University Alumni Association and past recipients include leaders from both the federal government and defense industry.

CLICK HERE for Past Recipients